top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNiv Leibowitz

Have you ever been to an Orta?

Updated: Sep 6, 2021


I would like to share a small encounter last week:


My host father, Marcos, took me to an Orta, a Brazilian market where you pick plants from a garden and then buy them. The worker at the Orta didn’t speak English, but knew I was from another country so he spoke to me in the only other language he knew besides Portuguese- Castilian Spanish. It was meaningful to see this small gesture from a random person I just met in a new country. Even thoug I didn't understand him, I could tell he was happy to meet me by his facial expression , smile, and voice.


These are the types of encounters that give you a new perspective on the world and make traveling to new places worth it.



Chao!


Niv





12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shimon and Levi: The Danger of Extreme Nationalism

Hello All! Below is dvar torah (which I wrote looking at the view from atop the Gilboa mountains) about the massacre committed by Shimon and Levi, and the lessons for today. Enjoy and share your thoug

bottom of page