top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNiv Leibowitz

Leaving to Brazil

Updated: Sep 6, 2021


I am currently writing from MIA, anxiously waiting to board my flight to Brasilia, the capitol of brazil.

My first endeavor this summer is a leadership training program to Brazil with the organization Youth Ambassadors. Throughout the duration of the trip I, along with 26 other students and 6 adult mentors, will be visting schools and government buildings, staying with a brazilian host family, and developing a community initiative.

Early this morning I and the other students from the DC Area flew into Miami, and we met up with the rest of the students from across the country at the University of Miami for pre-depature orientation. The main theme of orientation is we should always keep an open mind while on the trip, as we will be experiencing a new culture with different traditions and norms.

For example, during orientation, we were told the main greeting in Brazil is a double kiss on the cheek. This is a complete invasion of privacy compared to the standard american handshake. But this is percisley what this trip is intended to do- get me out of my confort zone.

As the trip progresses, I will update you with daily summaries, pictures, and, most importantly, what I learned about and what I've learned from Brazilian culture.


Chao!


Niv




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shimon and Levi: The Danger of Extreme Nationalism

Hello All! Below is dvar torah (which I wrote looking at the view from atop the Gilboa mountains) about the massacre committed by Shimon and Levi, and the lessons for today. Enjoy and share your thoug

bottom of page