top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNiv Leibowitz

A New Beginning

Updated: Sep 10, 2021

Right now I’m on my way to JFK international airport for my flight to Israel! For the 2021-2022 academic I am studying at Yeshivat Orayta in the old city of Jerusalem. A whole year of study will enable me to engage in a wide range of Jewish studies, from analyzing Talmudic passages to comparing the differences and similarities between Jewish and Islamic medieval commentaries, to Jewish philosophy, and much more.

Additionally, living in the old city will give me the opportunity to see Jews, Muslims, and Christians living together and learn lessons about coexistence.


To update you on the recent months, I graduated from Berman Hebrew Academy (see graduation speech here)- thank you to all my teachers and administrators who have helped and guided me throughout the years!


Since my twin sister Avigayil is also studying in Israel for the year, we have decided to start a blog called "Traveling Twins", documenting our experiences through blog posts, videos, and more! Link: https://travelingtwins.wixsite.com/travelingtwins

From now on I am sending out blog posts through this website.


Before I left, I had the privilege of meeting with Martin Finkelstein, a 105 year old Holocaust Survivor who goes to my synagogue, HTAA. Hearing his story of joining a Zionist group in the 30s in Poland, but getting drafted into the polish army before he had a chance to go to the mandate of Palestine gave me a sense of gratitude for being able to study a year in Israel.

His laughter and liveliness at 105 continues to inspire me!


Stay tuned!

Kol Tuv,


Niv



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shimon and Levi: The Danger of Extreme Nationalism

Hello All! Below is dvar torah (which I wrote looking at the view from atop the Gilboa mountains) about the massacre committed by Shimon and Levi, and the lessons for today. Enjoy and share your thoug

bottom of page